Please get involved and stay informed by showing up at our next meeting (check the calendar on the right sidebar), or contact the Chairman here or sign up at the Vermont Democrats' site. Thank you!

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Chittenden County Democratic Committee Reorganizes

The Chittenden County Democratic Committee convened on October 20th to reorganize as required by Vermont law. Chairman Mike Yantachka called the meeting to order shortly after 7 PM with more than 70 delegates present. The first order of business was the election of officers beginning with a new Chairperson. Jake Perkinson was nominated by Milton Town Chair Reg Godin. With no other nominations for the position, Jake was unanimously elected, whereupon, Mike Yantachka turned the meeting over to him.

The two positions related to representation on the State Democratic Committee were contested. Selene Hofer-Shall and Robyn McGuire were both nominated for the position of State Committeewoman, and Ed Adrian and Robert Hooper were both nominated for the position of State Committeeman. Hofer-Shall and Hooper won those elections by secret ballot.

The other officer positions were not contested and were filled by Vice-Chair Bob Hooper, Secretary Robyn McGuire, Treasurer Jesse Bridges, and Assistant Treasurer David Cain. Mary Sullivan, Marcella Chiarello and Joanna Cole were elected Alternate Delegates to the State Committee, also without opposition.

Following the election of officers, outgoing treasurer Ken Brown gave his final financial report and offered his help in transitioning the duties of Treasurer to Bridges.

In acknowledgement of the early start to the 2010 campaigns, Perkinson invited declared candidates for county offices to introduce themselves to the Committee. Philip Baruth, Ralph Montefusco, Andy Montroll and Mike Yantachka each spoke as candidates for the Vermont Senate, and Charles Delaney spoke as a candidate for Assistant Judge. Chittenden County Senator Doug Racine, candidate for Governor, was also invited to address the Committee. All candidates were limited to two minutes.

During the meeting several door prizes were raffled off as a fund-raiser. The raffle netted $130 for the treasury. The meeting was adjourned just after 8 PM.

No comments: